Épp két éve, hogy Steve Jobs egy dolgozóknak címzett levélben közölte mindenkivel, hogy betegszabadságra megy, mert állapota rosszabb, mint hitte. Később kiderült, májátültetése volt a vezének.

Most újra egy hasonló levél ment körbe, ezúttal azonban nincs megadva határidő a visszatérésre, mint 2009-ben. Továbbra is ő marad a vezérigazgató, a stratégiai döntések őt illetik, de a napi, operatív ügyeket ismét Tim Cook veszi át. Visszatérés időpontja: amint tudok.

A levél:

Team,
At my request, the board of directors has granted me a medical leave of absence so I can focus on my health. I will continue as CEO and be involved in major strategic decisions for the company. I have asked Tim Cook to be responsible for all of Apple's day to day operations. I have great confidence that Tim and the rest of the executive management team will do a terrific job executing the exciting plans we have in place for 2011. I love Apple so much and hope to be back as soon as I can. In the meantime, my family and I would deeply appreciate respect for our privacy.
Steve